3 comments on “#AHB and my life as a lesbian living in Uganda.

  1. Tina,

    Thank you so much for sharing your story. I am so sorry that you are experiencing these abuses! It is incredibly brave of you to continue to work as an activist and share your truth, as the situation for LGBTI people in Uganda continues to get worse. You did a beautiful job describing what it is like to live in fear each day, in addition to explaining how homophobia has impacted your life. While reading, I felt as though I was almost right there with you. You are a very talented writer!

    I hope that you and your fellow activists at Freedom and Roam and SMUG understand that there are many people out in the world like myself, who care deeply about what you are going through, and who send positive thoughts your way every day. Since 2009, I have been following the news on homophobia in Uganda, watching documentary films, signing petitions, and protesting against your government’s actions.

    I am a proud bisexual woman myself, and lived in Tanzania for college and also visited Uganda. It makes me sick that you and so many others have to live in fear and hiding because a bunch of religious wackos from America feel the need to impose their own ideas about morality on Ugandans.

    There are so many things I wish I could say to you. I wish I could just give you a hug! I am currently a graduate student in the United States but am taking time off from school because I am sick with mono. In the past, I have helped asylum seekers and refugees, and have been involved in many other activist causes. I am interested in helping your organization in some way when I am feeling a bit better. Please feel free to contact me via my email: nsgagnon@gmail.com or by posting another message below. Thank you for all that you do.

    Yours,

    Nikki
    Maine, United States

Leave a Reply

